Skip to main content Accessibility Statement

The Qualifications Frameworks set out the different levels of higher education qualifications and the requirements for each of these. There is one framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and a separate one for Scotland. Both are combined in one publication.

Second edition now available

The second edition of The Frameworks for Higher Education Qualifications of UK Degree-Awarding Bodies (published in February 2024) includes amended references to the UK Quality Code and the way that institutions are reviewed. These updates are intended to take account of the many changes made to the UK's quality arrangements, particularly in England, since the Frameworks document was first published in 2014. Defined terms have been updated, and the descriptions of the four main degree outcome classifications for bachelor's degrees with honours, formerly published as a separate annex to this document, have been included. These represent minor updates and the main elements of The Framework for Higher Education Qualifications of Degree-Awarding Bodies in England, Wales and Northern Ireland (FHEQ) and The Framework for Qualifications of Higher Education Institutions in Scotland (FQHEIS) remain unchanged. This document is now also available in Welsh.

The Frameworks for Higher Education Qualifications of UK Degree-Awarding Bodies

Publication date: 20 Feb 2024

Qualifications can Cross Boundaries

Qualifications can Cross Boundaries offers an at-a-glance look at different qualifications frameworks, helping learners, educators, employers and governments understand how qualifications in difference sectors compare with each other.

It also offers a comparison with European higher education frameworks, helping graduates with UK or Irish qualifications understand how they compare internationally.

​Qualifications Can Cross Boundaries: Guide to Comparing Qualifications in the UK and Ireland

Publication date: 14 Aug 2023