Skip to main content Accessibility Statement

The method for the quality evaluation and enhancement of UK transnational education was commissioned by Universities UK (UUK) and GuildHE. It has been shaped through consultation with stakeholders in the higher education sector in the UK and worldwide.

The QE-TNE Scheme applies to all UK degree-awarding bodies on a voluntary basis and operates over the academic years 2021-22 to 2025-26. It is enhancement-led, informed by robust metrics, and has the student experience at its heart. Fundamental to the new approach is collaboration between QAA and local higher education bodies to build and deepen mutual understanding, cooperation and trust.


During the five-year programme, one major host country/territory will normally be selected each year, together with two others - such as those that are emerging or developing, or those with smaller TNE numbers. The selection criteria are detailed in the QE-TNE Handbook.


The countries selected for the first three years of the QE-TNE scheme are:

  • 2021-22: Egypt, Germany and United Arab Emirates
  • 2022-23: People's Republic of China, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Sri Lanka
  • 2023-24: Greece, Cyprus, Viet Nam

So far, over 75 UK higher education providers have chosen to participate in the QE-TNE Scheme.


There are five stages in the QE-TNE Scheme:

  1. Creating a schedule of country-based activity
  2. Relationship building with host country
  3. Preparation and planning in UK
  4. Evaluation activity
  5. Reports, publications and wider outcomes

Full details of each stage are given in the QE-TNE handbook.

The Quality Evaluation and Enhancement of UK Transnational Higher Education (TNE) Provision 2021-22 to 2025-26

Publication date: 29 Nov 2022


The QNE-TNE Scheme offers many benefits for different types of stakeholders and participants, with its range of resources and events, as well as strengthened relationships and international understanding (see Annex 5 of the Handbook).

  • Overview report on each country visited
  • Deepened relationships with host countries
  • Greater mutual trust, understanding and recognition between the UK and TNE host nations

  • QE-TNE Scheme Badge
  • Published outputs:
    • case studies
    • country guides and insights
    • institution evaluation reports
    • scheme documents
    • student experience reports
    • thematic-based activities and publications


    TNE Scheme participants can access these resources on our Membership Resources site.


The QE-TNE Scheme is open to all UK degree-awarding bodies, but if your institution is also a QAA Member, there are added benefits. Additional resources and outputs from the Scheme will be made available to QAA Members, with further benefits only available to those who have taken the International Insights enhancement package (see below). More information is given in the Handbook.


QAA Members

  • Opportunity to participate in dissemination events and resources
  • TNE partner access to events


Further benefits for International Insights Members

  • Able to access the insights provided through:
    • thematic analysis
    • best practice guides
    • toolkits and practical resources
    • training events

  • Overview report
  • Deeper relationship with UK and QAA
  • Opportunity to feed into the process
  • Opportunity for joint working
  • Benefits from greater insights into the student experience, alumni and employer views
  • Opportunity to address areas of benefit for TNE provision
  • Meetings between relevant agencies and authorities and the QAA QE-TNE review team

  • Access to country-specific publications not in the public arena:
    • visit reports
    • case studies
    • student experience reports
    • country guides

QE-TNE Scheme Badge

UK degree-awarding bodies participating in QE-TNE Scheme are listed on the QAA website as participants of the Scheme. All participating institutions and their overseas TNE partners are able to use the QE-TNE Badge, which is a public statement of their commitment to quality. Only the QE-TNE Badge carries the backing and endorsement of sector agencies Universities UK and GuildHE.

The QE-TNE Scheme Badge must be used in accordance with its Terms and Conditions.

QE-TNE Participants

We are delighted to confirm that over 75 UK higher education providers have chosen to participate in the QE-TNE Scheme, so far. These are listed below in alphabetical order.

  • The University of Aberdeen
  • Abertay University
  • Aberystwyth University
  • Royal Agricultural University
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Arden University
  • Bangor University
  • University of Bedfordshire
  • Birkbeck College
  • The University of Birmingham
  • Birmingham City University
  • The University of Bolton
  • University of Bradford
  • Brunel University London
  • University of Buckingham
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Cardiff University
  • Coventry University
  • Cranfield University
  • De Montfort University
  • University of Derby
  • The University of Dundee
  • University of Durham
  • The University of East Anglia
  • The University of East London
  • The University of Edinburgh
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • The University of Essex
  • The University of Exeter

  • The University of Glasgow
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Glyndŵr University
  • The University of Greenwich
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
  • Keele University
  • King's College London
  • Kingston University
  • The University of Lancaster
  • The University of Law
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds Trinity University
  • University of Lincoln
  • The University of Liverpool
  • University of London (Institutes and activities)
  • London Business School
  • London Metropolitan University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Middlesex University

  • Newcastle University
  • University of Northumbria at Newcastle
  • University of Nottingham
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • University of Plymouth
  • Plymouth Marjon University
  • Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • Richmond, The American International University in London
  • The University of Salford
  • University of South Wales
  • The University of Southampton
  • The University of St Andrews
  • Staffordshire University
  • The University of Stirling
  • University of Suffolk
  • The University of Sunderland
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Sussex
  • Swansea University
  • Teesside University
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • The University of West London
  • University of the West of England, Bristol
  • University of Worcester
  • The University of York

Find out more about the outputs from the QE-TNE Scheme using the map below. Open the legend by clicking on the menu button in the top left, then either select the label on the side navigation menu or click on a flag on the map, to find out more information.