Skip to main content Accessibility Statement
COVID-19 (Coronavirus) – support and guidance

The Qualification Frameworks set out the different levels of higher education qualifications and the requirements for each of these. There is one framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and a separate one for Scotland. Both are combined in one publication.

The Credit Framework provides guidance on how to use credit when designing programmes that lead to higher education qualifications.

These documents are currently being updated to bring them in line with the new Quality Code. Updated versions will be available on this page in due course.


Consultation on revised Higher Education Credit Framework for England Guidance


We are currently consulting on a revised version of this guidance, first published in 2014.



The Frameworks for HE Qualifications of UK Degree-Awarding Bodies

Publication Date: 03 Nov 2014

Annex D: outcome classification descriptions for FHEQ Level 6 and FQHEIS Level 10 degrees

Publication Date: 10 Oct 2019

Higher education credit framework for England

Publication Date: 15 Aug 2008