Skip to main content Accessibility Statement

QAA welcomes new Chairs and Deputy Chairs for Subject Benchmark Statement reviews

Date: November 9 - 2021

New Chairs and Deputy Chairs have been appointed to lead the review of 13 Subject Benchmark Statements in 2021-22. Their appointment follows an expression of interest phase earlier this year, and successful appointees have been drawn from QAA Member institutions across the UK.

The new Chairs and Deputy Chairs for the Subject Benchmark Statements due to be reviewed are:

Subject Benchmark Statement Chairs and Deputy Chairs
Anthropology Chair - Professor Tim Thompson (Teesside University)  Deputy Chair - Dr Simon Underdown (Oxford Brookes University)
Biomedical Sciences Chair - Professor Mary Hannon-Fletcher (Ulster University)  Deputy Chair - Dr Sue Jones (York St John University)
Biosciences Chair - Dr Helen Watson (University of Plymouth)  Deputy Chairs - Professor Jonathan R Green (University of Birmingham), Dr Jacqueline Nairn (University of St Andrews)
Business and Management Chair - Professor Liz Crolley (University of Liverpool)  Deputy Chairs - Dr Ian C Elliott (Northumbria University), Professor Marco Mongiello (University of Law)
Economics Chair - Professor Parama Chaudhury (UCL)  Deputy Chairs - Professor Alvin Birdi (University of Bristol), Professor Susan Newman (Open University)
Engineering Chair - Professor Alistair Greig (UCL)  Deputy Chairs - Dr Vaibhav Gandhi (Middlesex University), Professor Claire Lucas (King’s College London)
English Chair - Professor Robert Eaglestone (Royal Holloway, University of London)  Deputy Chairs - Professor Susan Bruce (Keele University), Dr Alex Thomson (University of Edinburgh)
Languages, Cultures and Societies Chair - Professor Nigel Harkness (Newcastle University)  Deputy Chair - Professor Edward Welch (University of Aberdeen)
Law Chair - Professor Chris Ashford (Northumbria University)  Deputy Chairs - Professor Deveral Capps (Leeds Beckett University), Professor Caroline Strevens (University of Portsmouth)
Linguistics Chair - Dr Khawla Badwan (Manchester Metropolitan University)  Deputy Chair - Dr Sebastian Rasinger (Anglia Ruskin University)
Mathematics, Statistics and Operational Research Chair - Professor Duncan Lawson (Coventry University)  Deputy Chair - Dr Peter Rowlett (Sheffield Hallam University)
Politics and International Relations Chair - Professor John Craig (Leeds Beckett University)  Deputy Chair - Dr Ross Bellaby (University of Sheffield)
Psychology Chair - Dr Simon Goodson (Nottingham Trent University)  Deputy Chair - Dr Gail Steptoe-Warren (Arden University)

Subject Benchmark Statements describe the nature of study and the academic standards expected of graduates in specific subject areas. They show what graduates might reasonably be expected to know, do and understand at the end of their studies.

QAA leads the development of Subject Benchmark Statements and reviews them on a cyclical basis to ensure they serve as a useful resource for discipline communities and can inform a range of purposes - including as reference points in the design, delivery and review of academic courses.

Welcoming the new Chairs and Deputy Chairs, Dr Ailsa Crum, QAA’s Director of Membership, Quality Enhancement and Standards said: ‘Our Subject Advisory Groups play an instrumental role in the review of Subject Benchmark Statements, ensuring that the process is truly collaborative and takes advantage of the range of subject expertise across the sector. We look forward to working creatively and imaginatively with the new Chairs and Deputy Chairs and once appointed, the full Subject Advisory Groups.”

You can find out more about the Subject Benchmark Statements due to be reviewed on our website. QAA is currently recruiting for members of the Subject Advisory Groups for each of the Subject Benchmark Statements listed above - the deadline for expressions of interest is Friday 12 November.